Photo by Bekah Cope

Photo by Bekah Cope

It’s been a long time coming, but the second Jeffrey Novak solo LP –Baron In The Trees- is finally available from In The Red Records. This record is the follow-up to the 2009 solo debut [After The Ball, LMN Records] and a bunch of solo singles on various labels, and it’s a killer way to get our 2013 year going. You might remember us talking about the album a while ago in 2011 when the James Cathcart directed video for “Here Comes Snakeman” came out. It’s still one of our favorite videos in recent memory and one of our favorite tracks on the LP. The album comes produced by Jay Lindsey [Jay Reatard] and it’s oddly fitting that it’s release would fall around the 3 year anniversary of Jay’s passing. You can snag it right here. Jeffrey is slated to have another solo record drop sometime soon titled Lemon Kid from Trouble In Mind Records [along with that single as a part of the 2013 Matador Singles Series] In other Novak-related news, Cheap Time recently had a greatest hits cassette come out from Burger Records that should find a nice home in your tapedeck for a long time. Check out the Snakeman video again below and catch Jeffrey with Cheap Time on January 28th at The End supporting Ty Segall. Click below for full album tracklist…


1. Parlour Tricks
2. Clarabelle
3. Whatever Happened
4. So Long Mr. Crow
5. Backseat Driver
6. Watch Yourself Go
7. Here Comes Snakeman
8. Meadow View
9. Baron In The Trees

0 comments Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *