Photo by Bekah Cope

We’re really surprised we haven’t heard more around town about the upcoming Strange Boys record, Live Music, which is slated to drop [surprise surprise] next week on October 25th via Rough Trade. The album is the follow up to last year’s Be Brave – which means this new record has some big shoes to fill. It features guests like White Fence and Jenna Thornhill-DeWitt [Mika Miko] and it’s definitely a record that we expect to take Strange Boys to new territory. It’s pretty heavy on the pianos and ballads and — that’s what we like in the Fall and Wintertime. Jim Eno of Spoon recorded some of the record [as well as the new Turbo Fruits record] We heard it a bit ago and it’s got us hankering for another Strange Boys show real bad. They’ll be doing a record release show next week with our buddy Mikal Cronin at The Troubador. Wish we could be there. The nice people over at AV Club are streaming the new record in it’s entirety right now — so click here and give your ears something nice. And, if you like what you hear, you can go ahead and pre-order the album. We’re also expecting a Strange Boys release of live music sometime soon from the guys at Third Man Records [gotta get that “Lay Lady Lay”] But we’ll keep you guys posted on that as it comes. We’d also like to give some props to Bekah Cope for taking maybe the best Strange Boys photo we’ve ever seen [that’s it up there] You’ll probably see it around all over the place. Tell her how much you like it when you see her. Check a killer video for the new single “Me and You” below and click after for album artwork/tracklisting…


1. Me and You
2. Walking Two by Two
3. Doueh
4. Punk’s Pajamas
5. You and Me
6. Omnia Boa
7. Mama Shelter
8. Saddest
9. My Life Beats Me
10. Over The River and Through The Woulds
11. Right Before
12. Hidden Meanings, Soul Graffiti
13. You Take Everything For Granite When You’re Stone
14. Opus 

1 comment Comment

One response to “LIVE MUSIC OR DIE”

  1. Seth says:

    I’m talkin track 1 and track 8 for real

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *